Uncategorized

Thai Green Curry

4 Servings

img_1328

Im starting this blog with a few of my favourite meals and Thai Green Curry is definitely included in that list. It’s a meal that seems to have become a staple of mine since becoming a student,  I think this maybe due to the fact it freezes well.

Learning to freeze meals has been a life saver this year. Not only is it perfect for when your in a hurry (or too hungover to make a meal), its great for saving money. To freeze meals I usually spoon portions out into plastic tubs whilst I am dishing my meal out onto my plate and let the tubs cool right down whilst I eat and clean up. Once the portions are fully cool I pop the lids on and put them into the freezer for the future. To defrost the meals I remove them from the freezer a few hours before I need to eat and leave them to thaw out  on the side or in the fridge. Simple.

As a student saving money is definitely a priority and this meal can be made very inexpensively. Although some of the ingredients I have included in the recipe might be more expensive there are options to leave them out or substitute them for other things, ginger for example. I often replace fresh spices for ground or powdered jars of spices in recipes, especially if it is a fresh ingredient i won’t be able to use all of . I love Cashew nuts however they can be pricy so feel free not to use them, or replace them with sesame seeds. I have chosen to use pepper and cabbage as the main veggies in the dish. This is because I had some cabbage that I had brought back to London from my garden at home when I visited at the weekend. Feel free to chose to use any vegetables you have available, cabbage can be changed for spinach etc. This really is a versatile dish haha.img_1334img_1285

I had to add in a picture of the veggies I brought back from my garden, did I mention I love growing vegetables? The bigger head of cabbage was used in the curry, the smaller cabbage will be saved for something else and I think the beets need to be made into beetroot burgers. Got to admit I get a few strange looks coming back on the train with a bag overflowing with veg.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • Onion
  • 1tsp Ginger
  • 2 Green Chillies
  • 1 Green Bell Pepper
  • 2 tbsp Green Thai Curry Paste
  • 2 tbsp/half a limes worth of lime juice
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 Kaffer Lime Leafs
  • 1 tsp Ground Coriander
  • 200 ml Vegetable Stock
  • Cabbage
  • 400 ml Tin of Coconut Milk
  • 4 Spring Onions
  • Fresh Coriander
  • Cashews
  • Rice, to accompany the curry

Be aware that some green curry paste uses fish, therefore check the label to keep it vegan! I used Tesco brand, Blue Dragon is also vegan. The paste can be kept in the fridge for a week or two and can be used in many different dishes.

Method:

  1. Cut the cabbage and place in a microwavable  bowl. Pour a few table spoons of water into the bowl cover and place in the microwave for 5 to 10 minutes.
  2. Whilst the cabbage is steaming in the microwave fry the garlic and onion in the coconut oil. If you are using fresh ginger grate and  include this now.
  3. When the onions have turned translucent and soft add in the chillies and bell pepper.  When the peppers start to soften up add in the thai paste.
  4. Add the stock into the mix gradually to dilute the paste, you may not choose to use all the stock. Tear the lime leafs and add them into the pan. At this point you should also add the ground coriander and the ground ginger if you choose to substitute it in. The soy sauce and lime juice are also ready to be added at this point.
  5. Remove the cabbage from the microwave and drain to remove excess water. This is now ready to be included in the curry.
  6. The cabbage is followed by the coconut milk, spring onions. Only add the coconut once the vegetables are cooked through and the dish is almost ready to avoid it splitting. Spare a few slices of spring onion to garnish.
  7. When the coconut milk has been mixed in the curry is ready to be served. Garnish with the extra spring onions, fresh coriander and cashews. I suggest serving the dish with some rice.
Leave a Reply

